The Women’s Equality Agenda – Get on the Bus!

AAUW Members:

On Tuesday, June 4, thousands of New Yorkers from across the state will come to Albany to rally and lobby for the Women’s Equality Agenda – 10 critical legislative measures aimed at removing barriers to women’s full and equal participation in society. AAUW needs to be there in force!

The Women’s Equality Agenda recognizes that protecting reproductive freedom is essential to ensuring equal opportunities for women. A cornerstone of the agenda is to protect a woman’s ability to make her own private health care decisions.

The package of reforms does much more – it includes measures to help achieve pay equity; expand sexual harassment protections; and increase protections against discrimination in employment, housing, credit and lending – to level the playing field for our state’s 10 million mothers, daughters, wives and sisters.

We’ll rally outside the capitol on June 4 and visit our legislators to let them know that an overwhelming majority of New Yorkers support these reforms. On June 20th the New York legislative session comes to an end. We must tell our legislators to stand with women.

Buses will leave early from Long Island, New York City, Westchester, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, Buffalo the North Country and places in between. To get your seat on a bus, please RSVP by May 31.

Contact your local WEA Regional Chair for more information on the bus from your area!

Capital Region: Blue Carreker, blue@uhpp.org

Central New York: Betty DeFazio, bdefazio@pprsr.org

Finger Lakes: KaeLyn Rich, krich@nyclu.org; Jennifer Cook, jcook@pprsr.org

Hudson Valley: Daniel Berger, dberger@nyclu.org

Long Island: Ellen Redmond, ellen_redmond@ibew.org

New York City: Stephanie Demmons, stephanie.demmons@ppnyc.org

North Country: Donna Seymour, seymour6985@verizon.net; Martha Stahl, Martha.stahl@ppncny.org

Southern Tier: Lea Webb, lwebb1014@gmail.com; Carole Coppens ccoppens@ywcaofbinghamton.org

Western New York: John Curr, jcurr@nyclu.org

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s